Frequently Asked Questions
Sri Lankan citizens travelling to Schengen countries on business or as tourists may receive a uniform visa for a short stay of 1 to 90 days valid for Sweden and Finland (Embassy of Sweden), Germany, Austria, Estonia and Latvia (Embassy of Federal Republic of Germany), Italy, Greece and Malta (Embassy of Italy), The Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and Slovenia (Royal Netherlands Embassy), Norway, Denmark, and Iceland (Royal Norwegian Embassy), Sweden and Finland (Embassy of Sweden), France, PortugalSpain and Czech Republic(Embassy of the Republic of France). The Embassy of the main destination is responsible for processing the uniform Schengen visa. If main destination cannot be determined, responsibility for processing the visa lies with the Embassy of the Schengen state of first entry.

Application forms can be downloaded from the Embassy website as well as the V.F.S website 24 hours a day : Click here Application forms can also be collected from V.F.S. French visa application centre (No 61,Janadhipathi Mawatha,
Colombo- 01.), from Mondays to Thursdays from 08:00 to 14:00 and from 08:00 to 12.00 on Fridays.

Applications have to be submitted between 3 months and at least 10 days before the planned departure. The visa section is open every morning from Tuesday to Friday. Long stay visa applicants are received by appointment on Mondays only. All short stay and Family Reunion Long stay applicants should handover the documents Mondays to Fridays to V.F.S with prior appointment only, except Spouses of European nationals, holders of diplomatic or official passports and other categories of long stay visa applicants (students, work permit, visitors,…)

By consequence, the personal appearance of the applicants becomes optional for a *subsequent application and they will have the possibility to be represented by a third party with an authorized letter.
  • *Children under the age of 12
  • *The applicants those who had a previous Schengen Visa issued after 02 November 2015 (with VIS tag in the visa sticker) .

Requirement list can be downloaded from the Embassy website as well as the V.F.S website 24 hours a day :

Click here

Click here

Requirement List can also be collected from V.F.S. French visa application centre (No 61,Janadhipathi Mawatha,Colombo 01 , from Mondays to Thursdays from 08:00 to 14:00 and from 08:00 to 12.00 on Fridays.

Tourist/transit applicants will be received by appointment after submitting their files at V.F.S. visa application centre, No.61, Janadipathi Mawatha ,Colombo 01 . The centre is open from Mondays to Thursdays from 08:00 to 14:00 and from 08:00 to 12.00 on Fridays. V.F.S. will schedule the appointments to be held at the Embassy and will be in charge of returning passports at the end of the visa process. For further information, visa applicants are kindly requested to call the V.F.S. center: 011 2350620 or send a mail to

Schengen visa costs the equivalent in Sri Lankan rupees of 60 Euros according to the French official exchange rate at the time of payment.

Passport can be collected from Monday to Friday from 10:00 to 16:00 from V.F.S. French visa application centre, No.61, Janadhipathi Mawatha ,Colombo 01

Applicant should provide a complete file. If additional documents are required, a form stating the missing documents is handed over to the applicant by V.F.S. If application is incomplete after submission at V.F.S., the visa will be refused.

If your visa has been rejected and unless you can provide further elements modifying your application, this decision will not be changed.

Since April 2011, the embassy of France has stated the reasons for refusal on the standard form for refusal of a visa. Few exceptions under the French laws remain subject to unreasoned decision.

Visa fees are not reimbursed even in case of visa refusal.

Visa procedures and visa requirements for Spain, Portugal and Czech Republic are the same as those for France.

In this event, as well as a refusal for France, an appeal can be lodged with the Commission of Appeal against the decisions of Refusal for an entry Visa in France, at the following address: BP 83.609, 44036 Nantes CEDEX 1, within two months from the date of the present notification.

The Embassy of France in Colombo has entrusted the company VFS from 2nd January 2007 onwards to handle Family Reunion visas to France . This center will become the focal point for submitting the application form that has been directly sent to the applicants by the French Embassy itself, required supporting documents and payment of the long stay visa fees. Visa fees amount will be notify at the time of submission of the application.

If you are planning to go to a DROM or a CTOM, you must clearly state it at the time you apply (the visa fee may be different according to your destination) .The requirements for a DROM /CTOM visa are the same as for a Schengen visa.

New regime of circulation of foreigners in the departments and communities overseas (DROM/CTOM):

1. Visa exemption to bearers of a circulation visa applies to the following nationalities: South Africa, Bahrain, Belarus, China, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, India, Oman, Qatar, Russia and Ukraine;
2. Bearers of an official passport (diplomatic, service and/or special) for the following countries are exempt from requiring a DROM/CTOM visa: Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Namibia, Thailand;
3. Bearers of a long stay visa from a Schengen country are exempt from requiring a DROM/CTOM visa;
4. Citizens of Taiwan are exempt from requiring a DROM/CTOM visa;
5. Holders of a valid Residence card (carte de séjour) or long stay visa delivered by France (national territory, DROM, Saint Pierre or Miquelon) are exempt from requiring a short stay DROM/CTOM visa


  DROM, French overseas "Départements" and "Régions" are: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique and Réunion.
  CTOM, French overseas territories are: French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, New Caledonia and its dependencies, Mayotte, Saint Martin, Saint Barthélémy and Saint-Pierre and Miquelon.

For differently-abled applicants, we have a dedicated elevator leading to the visa application centre and wheel chair facility. Please make prior arrangements by calling our helpline on 0720910107 Monday to Friday 8:00 to 16:00 or speak to the security officers of the visa application centre upon arrival.